Board of Trade Congratulates Business Excellence Award Winners

December 3, 2014, St. John's, NL - The St. John’s Board of Trade recognized some of the city’s most outstanding entrepreneurs today at the 22nd annual Business Excellence Awards.

“These awards recognize the achievements of private sector business and acknowledge the significant contributions members are making to our community, and our province,” says Sharon Horan, Chair of the St. John’s Board of Trade. “I congratulate all of this year’s award recipients and wish them many more years of continued success.”

The Business Excellence Awards represent overall achievement across several categories. The recipients have distinguished themselves as achievers at the very highest level during this business year. The recipients of the 2014 St. John’s Board of Trade Business Excellence Awards are:

Community Impact (20+ employees) – Hickman Automotive Group

Community Impact (under 20 employees) – Hungry Heart Café

Leader in Growth and Sales – St. John’s International Airport Authority

Marketing and Promotional Creativity – Destination St. John’s

Customer Service and Reliability – Knightsbridge Robertson Surrette

Innovation – FONEMED

Workplace Excellence – Technip Canada Limited

Entrepreneurial Spirit – Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food

Community Builder Volunteer of the Year – Jim Burton

Group of people on stage at a Business Excellence event.

The Business Excellence Award, the most prestigious award given by the St. John’s Board of Trade, recognizes innovation, creativity, sales growth, and the passion for success demonstrated by the annual winner. This year, the Board is proud to shine the spotlight on Hickman Automotive Group.

The St. John’s Board of Trade is a non-partisan, business advocacy organization that is the principal voice of business for 900 members in the St. John’s area. Its mission is to improve the local business climate, enhancing its members’ ability to do business through advocacy and member services.